You should know

C’è un angolo nascosto del mio cuore
Che trabocca di gioia, fatica
E mucchi di parole
Accumulati senza che me ne accorgessi
Mentre lottavo, caracollavo
E non facevo progressi

Furono anni feroci sconvolti frementi
In cui mi sono perso
Tra infiniti mutamenti
Di pelli di orizzonti di sogni di sguardi
Per poi ritrovarmi
Ed era quasi troppo tardi

È un caldo luogo di luce
Di amicizie improbabili
Che il sorriso induce
Lo custodisco ancora con gelosia
Ma non lo visito troppo spesso
Pena la malinconia

Lo abitano
Amici che ho salutato da tanto tempo ormai
Da quando ho lasciato Manchester
Preso da altri guai
Ma il ricordo brilla ancora come oro
E oggi voglio celebrarli
Questi versi sono per loro

Dovreste vedere

Il sorriso tenace di Mo
Desi e quella voglia di vita
Lo sguardo tagliente di Seb
E poi Sam, curiosità infinita

Dovreste ascoltare

I mille progetti di Luci
La bella Laurie, e testarda
La gioia nomade di Sara
E Rob, che nella musica si attarda

Dovreste conoscere

L’eterno entusiasmo di Noemi
Emo e quella risata che è malia
La fragilità coraggiosa di Jo
Jen e la sua saggia pazzia

Dovreste incontrare

Il fuoco inestinguibile di Arianna
Lou e il fascino per l’avventura
I talenti sempre nuovi di Ema
Luke, acrobata senza paura

Ero solo stanco vinto incattivito
Lontano da casa
Cinico incallito
Ho trovato un tesoro
E non lo stavo cercando
Nella pioggia spettrale
Nei pomeriggi più belli
Ho trovato una famiglia
Di compagni
Di fratelli

There’s a hidden corner
Of my heart
Overflowing with joy, difficulties
And piles of words
Heaped up without me
Noticing it
While I fought, I caracoled
Without much progress

They were ferocious, deranged years
When I lost myself
In countless changes
Of skins, horizons,
Dreams
And then again I found myself
Almost too late

It’s a warm place, full of light
Of unlikely friendships
That make you smile
I guard it with jealousy
But I don’t visit it too often
To avoid the gloom

Friends live there
Whom I said goodbye to a long time ago
When I left Manchester
To get into other troubles
But memories still shine like gold
And today I want to celebrate
These rhymes are for them

You should see

Mo’s tenacious smile
Desi and her lust for life
Seb’s sharp eyes
And Sam’s endless curiosity

You should listen at

Luci’s innumerable projects
Beautiful Laurie, and stubborn
Sara’s nomadic joy
And Rob, lost in music

You should know

Noemi’s eternal enthusiasm
Emo and her bewitching laughter
Jo’s brave fragility
Jen and her wise madness

You should meet

Arianna’s inextinguishable fire
Lou and her wanderlust
Ema’s ever renewing talents
Luke, fearless acrobat

I was alone, tired, turned nasty
Far away from home
Hopelessly cynical
I found a treasure
And I wasn’t looking for it
In ghostly rain
In sunniest afternoons
I found a family
Of companions
Of brothers and sisters

About Sketchword

Italian, 40-something, back home after a decade spent in Manchester, UK. So far researcher, teacher and occasional writer. Expect weird word choices and a few random mistakes.
This entry was posted in Bilingual, Italian, Manchester, Poesia, Poetry, Translation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You should know

  1. Seb says:

    Bellissimo Lucastro! Gives me goosebumps and I am thinking of translating in French – cause it is so beautiful

Share a thought